Rolls Royce Want To Be Liked Too.

By Tim Smith

Rolls Royce has attained FaceBook, erm, demi-godness or enlightenment or something, by having people click the ‘like’ button over 2 million times. That’s a lot of clicking, and, according to this yahoo answer would be the equivelant of 882 Joules of energy used. Or 1.19 hp, for all of us.

A picture of a letter. It's almost like a summing up of Facebook itself.

A picture of a letter. It’s almost like a summing up of Facebook itself.

Well, that’s all nice and good for them. The most I get is about ten or so when I do a ‘funny’ status about cats. Did you know that someone unfriended me the other day for doing what was clearly a witty and metafictional status about wit and metafiction? No? Well, you missed out because it was awe… Wait, where are you going?

Anyway, the only possible way to get all this into some kind of focus is to do a count down of the most liked high-end luxury saloon pages, like they do on Buzzfeed, ’cause thats what everybody loves.

5.

I REALLY want one of these.

I REALLY want one of these.

Bristol cars are just about the greatest things to stalk the Earth, but due to the iconoclastic nature of the company and the people that run it, there is no official Facebook page. Doesn’t stop them getting 1,266 likes though. That’s even more than Nathan Green gets when he posts something he’s written. And, no, I’m not even jel. Not even a little bit.

4.

Simon Cowell not pictured

Simon Cowell not pictured.

Maybach never really took off. The cars looked too much like bigger, more expensive S-Classes, and douche-bags like Simon Cowell bought them. In fact, he may have been one of the only people to have bought one. They get 83,879 likes. Which is almost as many women as Nathan Green is friends with.

3.

I think, on balance, my favourite name for a car, The Flying Spur.

I think, this, on balance, is my favourite name for a car, The Flying Spur.

Now we’re getting into the big leagues. Bentley have (at the time of writing) 1,549,032 likes. That’s almost as many crap’s I give about the fact that whenever I write anything I get about three views.

2.

0001

Welly, well, here is that very subject of this piece (not my massive jealousy over Nathan Greens’s popularity). and if you close your eyes you could imagine it rolling around like a teenage boy in its own self help. It’s Rolls Royce, with, at the time of writing, 2,120,254 likes. That’s almost as many comments from women that Nathan Green gets when he posts a status.

1.

Another press picture that Word Press refused to crop.

Another press picture that Word Press refused to crop.

I know, I know, It’s a bit of a stretch including Aston Martin, but they do make that rather lovely DB9 saloon, the Rapide. So I’ve gone and stuck em’ in here. They get a huuuuuge 4.2 million likes. Which, bitterness and ‘joking aside is almost as many pints as I’m going to buy Nathan Green next time I see him because yesterday, his piece about VTEC almost broke a thousand hits. Yes it did.

Nathan Green, and all those who read and share him, we love you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recycled PR

Leave a Reply

