Monday Long Termer: Vauxhall Corsa 1.3 CDTi

I recently changed careers, now working for a national media company as an Advertising Sales Executive. As this position requires a lot of travelling, the company provides me with a vehicle, and pay all related costs except for private fuel charges. Lucky me, you may think.

However, on my first day, I was shown around the car and was immediately disappointed. The car in question is a black 2007 Vauxhall Corsa 1.3 CDTi 5-door in the most basic of specifications.

943342_10153764235975354_172080206_n

Externally, it wore several scars, offering evidence of the previous owner’s lack of care when manoeuvring around solid objects or other cars. Internally, it smelt so foul I can only assume that in a previous life it was used as a rescue vessel on Noah’s Ark. All of the magic trees on this planet could not overcome the nostril-stripping stench of wet dog.

At the end of my first day I jumped into the car, opened every window and proceeded to saturate the interior fabrics with a multi-surface cleaner in a bid to temporarily cover the horrific smell. Job done, for now.

1455846_10153764236085354_895032820_n

I started the engine and pulled away slowly. Within just a few seconds I knew there was something mechanically unsound about the car. My suspicions were confirmed as soon as I asked the turbocharger to provide boost- every time it came on song, it was accompanied by a high-pitch whistle similar to the sound you’d expect to hear when steam evacuates from a hob-heated kettle.

I carefully drove the car to my local Vauxhall dealership. Replacement turbo and a full service required at only 52,500 miles. The life of a company car is a hard one, this much was immediately obvious.

Mileage- 3 miles

Fuel costs- £0

Repair bill- £550 to replace faulty turbocharger £199 for a full service

1 Comment

20/01/2014 · 15:47

One response to “Monday Long Termer: Vauxhall Corsa 1.3 CDTi

  1. It is too bad you had to deal with all this issues mate. Although no wonder you were provided with this specific model, as it is one of the top selling models in UK.

Leave a Reply

